top of page

Latoya Solani


#‎Sakhisizwe‬ on Bush Radio 89.5 FM Latoya MaDuka Solani , is in her early 20’s a proudly South African young women hailing from the rooted Eastern Cape in a small village in Kwagatwane and now resides in Cape Town. She completed her matric in Eesterivier Arts Academy one of the nine focus schools of arts in the Western Cape, where she majored in Dance, Drama and English. She has always been ambitions and a person for change and this sparked out at age 16 years when she took interest in community development through arts and culture. Now she is the host and content producer at one of the pioneering community radio stations in Africa Bush Radio. She hosts a flagship show where she discusses current affairs , promotes gender equality, human rights and supports local content\artist. ‘’In my journey I have interacted a lot with young people and trying to find spaces where we can network and use arts to address issues of concerns within communities.’’ In 2015 she was honoured to host The better Living Challenge a project support by the local government which gave an opportunity for young entrepreneurs to come up with innovative ideas. ‘’During that year I found myself in training with UNESCO through Bush Radio, learning more about the basics of journalism, investigative journalism, correspondence, Use of ICT’s and gender sensitive language in broadcasting.’’ 2015 she was invited to be a motivational speaker in a three day youth conference that focussed on young people’s struggles compared to the liberating youth in 1976.She is interested in young creatives as a create herself. Youth on youth development and has always said “People are inspired by spaces and objects, I on the other hand I'm inspired by people and the human connection"

FIVE QUESTIONS ANSWERED BY LATOYA ‘’Well first of all ..it feels very weird to answers questions I would normally ask on a day to day basis to my guest !!! ‘’

1 What makes you African Inspired?

What makes me African inspired is the love I have for Africa and the extra mile I’m willing to go to see my brothers and sisters who have been oppressed be successful in life. A better life through arts for the black child.

2 Your show on Bush is focused on empowerment and showcasing creatives mainly. Do you plan on establishing a platform via social media like a page where people can always follow up on your thoughts?

Absolutely I plan to open a space for young people to connect, share Ideas and be in the know. I love sharing information and social media is best because it allows us to connect with likeminded people all around the world

3 What changes can be made to allow up and coming creatives a fair chance to enter the industry?

If creatives can support each other more that would really contribute to having a solid and united arts industry. Change can also be in the up coming creatives . I think they need to be aggressive and more driven, know your story and make sure it’s heard. And be honest with yourselves.

4 What is the biggest challenge you have faced in this male dominated industry being a female radio host?

Biggest challenge I have experienced as young female radio host is the need to continuously prove that I belong here that I am supposed to be here.

5 What advice would you give yourself if you could go back into time a year about this strange thing we call life?

The advice I would give to myself is that …I shouldn’t be scared and never be apologetic about how my life turned out to be. That I have worked hard and still will continue to break all stereotypes about females and young people.

lazolasolani@gmail.com or Sakhisizwe@bushradio.co.za or 021 448 5450.


Comments


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page